Post Olympic Blues

I have been so used to switching on the TV, to never before used channels, that I am quite bereft without the olympics. Was it only 16 days? One becomes, so quickly, an expert on all things sporting, from the life stories, to their training schedule and one instantly knows all the in and outs of the strategies they ought to be applying. Now it is over, I’m secretly relieved, but also a little sad that I won’t be able to pass the time of day any longer with the postman, the man painting the chapel and the girl on the checkout. I’ll have to fall back on the weather which seems after two weeks of relative calm, dare one say sunshine, to have reverted to a pattern of showers, and more showers.

We did not see a great deal of the closing ceremony as Hyw was doing the quiz at the pub. We had thought there would not be many there but in fact it was packed. Everyone seemed to enjoy the evening but Hyw was exhausted by the time it was finished. I didn’t have a particular role but I was allowed to contribute 4 questions in the cookery section and collect the money and do the scores! The closing ceremony was all but over when I got back home and did seem to be a celebration of old pop stars, but perhaps I’ve got that wrong.

Since my last post I have been fasting! Not non-stop, 2 days fasting followed by 5 normal days. I am just half way through my second cycle and if you haven’t guessed why, its because I have been watching Michael Mosely on Horizon. I am giving my body time to recover, hopefully lowering my cholesterol and BP. I may even lose some weight, which would be a bonus. I don’t feel at all hungry, drink water and black tea, plus one black coffee as I get headaches if not, and have a tiny (and I mean tiny) meal. I am also gradually cutting down my meals as I eat far too much! So far, so good, expect more news in the weeks to come.

Strangely enough, I have been baking biscuits, and absolutely delicious they are. I also had a splendid lamb shank and a wonderful pork belly, both the products of Tesco finest. I am tempted to say that I will never cook another shank or belly from scratch again!

I have taken up my paint brushes again and started working in acrylics on a number of canvases. The subject, so far, has been on a theme of blue and white china, in front of windows. I’ve more or less run out of china now so tomorrow, when I’ve taken Hyw to the station ( he’s off to London for a prom concert ) I’m calling in at Tesco to buy some exotic fruits to paint.

20120815-200608.jpg

20120815-200517.jpg

20120815-200433.jpg

20120815-200323.jpg

5 thoughts on “Post Olympic Blues

  1. That Horizon show has been the talk of the town at work. Pretty much everybody is giving it a go. 600 calories seems manageable I guess. Do the fasting days have to be consecutive?

Leave a Reply

