Two lovely new frocks!

I have had my head down all week trying my best to make two more dresses. Having cut the first dress pattern rather small, necessitating an extra panel, I was determined not to make the same error, but you guessed it, it came out too big in places, so yet again I was forced to get creative and came up with some extra pin pleats at the neck and a bow to finish it off. The third dress I cut to the pattern with some refinements for the fit and I must say, its about perfect. The pattern is dreadfully short though and as a result I have had to cut it about 6 inches longer in the skirt, which meant that there was only just enough fabric! It would have been easier without the pattern but its awfully difficult to keep pinning and fitting it on yourself, I could do with a dressmakers dummy but they are fairly pricey. Anyway here they are!

20130426-182249.jpg

20130426-182326.jpg

Yesterday was a day of ‘fast’ so it was no surprise that, with the sun shining, we felt moved to go for lunch at ‘The Lazy Toad’. It was as good as ever and there was a lively atmosphere in the place. I had a warm duck rissole on a bed of spinach and potato, followed by Creedy Carver chicken and creme caramel and profiteroles. Delicious!

5 thoughts on “Two lovely new frocks!

Leave a Reply

