New Year, bad habits.

We are already into 2014 by quite a few days and I realise that I haven’t made a blog entry since before Christmas!

Flora has grown quite a bit since my last entry, she is very muscular and likes nothing better than some rough and tumble with Hyw. I try to stay clear of her when she is in fighting mode as even in fun, her claws draw blood from me very easily. I have been taking her into the garden everyday for the last week. It is really fun to see her discovering everything for herself, climbing right to the top of trees and then having to pick her way down again. I have to go with her to make sure she is safe with the road but more importantly to make sure she doesn’t run into any of the big males (cats) who slope around the village.

Christmas seems like an age ago. It was very wet at times but other days we had sunshine for a spell. Mum came by coach the Thursday before Christmas, Matt, Mo and Verity came on the Sunday. I had seen so many cooking programmes before Christmas that I couldn’t make my mind up what to make, so I made them all! Tom Kerridges turkey roll, orange and almond cake, Christmas ice cream, plum sauce, brussels with pears. Tom Kitchin’s stuffed Parma ham with goats cheese etc. Glynn Purnele’s monster sausage roll and my own recipe for north African lamb. Although there were only 6 of us we were all together for quite a few days so we seemed to get through masses of food. Mo left us to visit her family in Northern Ireland on Boxing Day afternoon. She got there just in time as they had quite a severe rain storm. The weather was pretty good so we came back via Topsham but it was changing as we got there so we didn’t stay for long. On the Friday we went to see The Hobbit, not bad but somehow I was underwhelmed by it.

By the following Monday, Verity, the last to leave us was gone but only until the next day as we went up to Bath for New Years Eve. We went to The Star and later to St James Wine Vaults where we played bar billards, then down to the abbey for 12 o’clock bells and a few fireworks. We drove home the next morning as it was torrential rain so there was no hope of going round the shops or anything.

Gwilym’s month long stay from his birthday until the beginning of December seems even longer ago. Whilst he was here we went to The Nobody Inn for lunch, had several nail biting moments sending off various forms for his visa etc, that got lost in the post, spent the day choosing wedding rings and then decided to get them online. In fact they were such good value I got one for myself at Christmas! Gwilym and I went to Bexhill to see nan, and had a riotous lunch with Thelma and Peter and their friend. Gwilym went to Bristol to see Verity again and of course she and Matt came here to see him. All too quickly it was over and he was off to HK for his wedding!

I think I’ve caught up everything now, time for another Strepsil to sooth my sore throat.

e

20140110-170952.jpg

20140110-171013.jpg

20140110-171033.jpg

20140110-171137.jpg

20140110-171158.jpg

One thought on “New Year, bad habits.

  1. I was hoping you’d blog about the food. Perhaps you can do a more in depth one with links to the recipes and any tips you have. I quite fancy making the sausage roll for friends who are coming on sunday. Shame we didn’t take photos of the food this year. It just got eaten too fast!

Leave a Reply

