Stockholm, first full day

Have just come in from the garden for a brief rest so I will add some more to my account as yesterday’s entry was all about getting there, something I used to tell my English  students to avoid! Still, it is useful for me as when we went back to Amsterdam I was able to look up the bus number from the station so not such a waste of space. I’m digressing already!!!

Had coffee and Danish pastries in a cafe and then set off on a walking tour of the city by way of the station, where we bought 72 hour transport passes. We took the tube to the next island over, Gamlastan, and I was amazed that when we came out of the station we were literally on the waters edge. We were facing the freshwater lake, behind us, facing the other way it was salt water. I had imagined that there was a long distance between the islands but in fact we had just travelled the distance of a bridge. It took some getting used to the layout of the city as although it is set out on a grid pattern it was in fact very confusing at first.

   
    
 The view from the station

We then walked around the old town, past the royal palaces, and other historic buildings endin up on the waterfront again but this time facing towards the sea. There were lots of boats moored up as far as the eye could see. Just opposite was the theatre with lots of gold leaf decoration, Hyw wanted to see an Ibsen play but in fact the box office was closed. By now we were quite near to the famous food market so we set off in search of a fine fish lunch!

   
    
    
    
   
Talking of which… More exciting adventures after lunch!

The food hall was everything I had hoped for, seafood of every description including some I hadn’t seen before. There were vegetables as well but for me the herrings stole the show, so much so that I had to have some for lunch. We were seated at a large round table and were soon joined by a couple of dentists from Switzerland and two Brazilians who were on a cruise around the Baltic. It was like the United Nations and the conversation covered all topics. The funny thing was we bumped into the Swiss couple later that afternoon when we stopped for a beer.

After a long lunch we made our way by bus to the Thielska collection. I will let the pictures speak for themselves. Supper that night was in the Theatre Cafe – I had chowder!

   
    
    
 

Leave a Reply

