A Flurry of Creative Activity

Since just before Christmas I have been exploring and redicovering collage as a means of describing new forms in the landscape. I was reminded of it in my art group and have since gone on to produce six or so works. I find it particularly satisfying as it is like sculpture in the first instance, building up layers of paper, then adding paint and pastel which I rub into the surface and then using a brush and water to take away colour or merge it. The results are very satisfying.


This is the first one I did, it is a view from the top of the hill, looking across to the High Moor of Dartmoor.

Autumn Apples, the small Apple Tree on the bank in our garden which each year is laden with fruit

An Impression of Venice where we went earlier this year.

Headland, a typical West Country view


Hedge Parsley, growing in the lane.

Dartmoor Winter, my most successful one yet!


Winter Trees

I’m working on another one at the moment, again of Dartmoor, from the top of my road. The soft earth of mid-Devon before the land rises up into the harsher landscape of the moor.

3 thoughts on “A Flurry of Creative Activity

  1. I love these, and have peered into them carefully, trying to see where the paper begins and the paint ends … a most effective way to capture so much. I think the Venice one is my favourite – collage seems to work so well for the reflections and shapes.

    1. Thankyou for your kind comments. They are very satisfying to make and as I think I say, almost like sculpture when you are shaping the paper, moving it this way and that. It’s also fascinating how the sleeve of a jumper becomes a rock!

Leave a Reply

