Ever Hopeful

We put the house on the market ( again) at the beginning of the year. We had a burst of activity last week, with several viewings but none this week. Still, we are not deterred, but it does get a bit tiresome always living in a show home and having to go out at a moments notice to give the estate agents a free hand with their ‘clients’. We have been to quite a few pubs as a result and discovered a few new ones too.

As part of the clearing out I regrettably had to get in touch with Vee to ask if she would mind if her dolls house finally went to recycling. My father had made it for her but over the years it has become very tattty. She said that was ok but when it came to it my heart wasn’t in it so I kept the roof and one floor so I could set about restoring it to a bungalow as we had plenty of dolls house wall paper that we had bought in Bath some years back. All of Vee’s dolls house furniture was wrapped up in newspaper in an old chest of drawers, there was loads of it and certainly more than could be accommodated in a bungalow. Whilst I was pondering what to do with it all I also came across the box of Kavalan Whisky that Lol had bought us from Taiwan, now I had another dilemma, what to do with the box, it was far too good to throw out.

It came to me in a flash, I would downsize the dolls into a townhouse and a bungalow for the country! A quick conversion was called for.


The before box


House conversion, the outside of the box has been left unchanged.

The bungalow has yet to be tackled! But the lady of the house also needed some new clothes, the old ones were at least twenty years old and looking very threadbare. She has been in a state of undress in the top of my sewing box and I almost gave up on her as she has become somewhat distorted with age but this morning I at last effected the transformation from this…


To this


So, the dolls have a new house even if we haven’t made the move yet.

5 thoughts on “Ever Hopeful

  1. Good luck with the move! I remember the agonies of sorting out when we left Crediton … so many sentimental treasures to deal with. I think this doll’s house transformation is a masterpiece!

    1. Just a quickie as I spent so long looking for material, in the end I aged her and made the check dress to make her look a bit down on her luck! Why should we be the only ones who have Brexit and all that it entails, to cope with!

Leave a Reply

